North Mississippi Allstars

North Mississippi Allstars are a southern rock band based around the Dickinson brothers, Luther and Cody. They formed in 1996 in Missisippi and originally had Duwayne Burnside, son of late blues guitarist R.L.Burnside, in the line-up. The band's first album, 'Shake Hands With Shorty', was released in 2000 and was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Blues Album. The group are perhaps best known as John Hiatt's backing musicians and they regularly tour with him and were featured on Hiatt's critically-acclaimed 2005 album, 'The Master of Disaster'. Guitarist Luther Dickinson is an exponent of the Lowebow guitar, an arcane instrument developed by Johnny Lowebow and consists of a cigar box with a single string bass and single string guitar attached to it, a sort of mini variation of the tea chest bass. Since 2007 Luther Dickinson has also been the lead guitarist in the Black Crows and has appeared on three of the band's albums. The North Mississippi Allstars remain one of the most respected southern rock acts in the US and have opened for artists such as Robert Plant and Dave Matthews. Their albums are invariably well received by music critics and fans alike.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring North Mississippi Allstars

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.