Morgan Heritage

Formed in 1994 in Brooklyn, New York, Morgan Heritage is a Grammy Award-winning reggae group. The group was founded by five of reggae musician Denroy Morgan: Peter ‘Peetah’ Morgan, Una Morgan, Roy ‘Gramps’ Morgan, Memmalatel ‘Mr. Mojo’ Morgan, and Nakhamyah ‘Lukes’ Morgan. The group – which featured three additional Morgan siblings at the time - made their live debut at Reggae Sunsplash in Jamaica in 1994 and were signed by MCA Records. Later that year, they released their pop-oriented debut album Miracle before the family relocated to Jamaica. Influenced by music from their homeland, the group’s sound shifted away from the pop sounds of their debut, and they embraced a pure reggae sound. The group released the albums Protect Us Jah (1997), One Calling (1998), Don’t Haffi Dread (1999), Live in Europe! (2000), More Teachings (2001), Three in One (2003), and Live in Amsterdam! (2003) before issuing three volumes of The Morgan Heritage Family and Friends series between 2004 and 2005. After the albums Full Circle (2005) and Mission in Progress (2008), the group took a short hiatus so each member could pursue different musical avenues. The members came back together in 2012 and toured Europe before recording their next album, Here Come the Kings (2013). Morgan Heritage’s next album, Strictly Roots (2015), won the award for Best Reggae Album at the 2016 Grammy Awards. The follow-up album, Avrakedabra (2017) won them their second Grammy Award in the same category. However, by 2019, Lukes and Una Morgan had left the group, leaving Morgan Heritage as a trio. They returned that year with the album Loyalty. Lead vocalist Peter ‘Peetah’ Morgan died on February 25, 2024, after suffering a stroke.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Morgan Heritage

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.