Local Natives

The indie-rock band Local Natives was formed in Los Angeles, California, in 2005. Bandmates Kelcey Ayer, Ryan Hahn, and Taylor Rice first met while attending high school in Orange County, then launched Local Natives with Andy Hamm and Matt Frazier after graduating from UCLA. Together, the group relocated to a home in Silver Lake and began working on a debut album, Gorilla Manor, which was released in November 2009. Gorilla Manor reached Number 160 in the US and turned Local Natives into critical darlings, with the album receiving praise throughout America and the UK. Bassist Andy Hamm left the lineup in March 2011 and was replaced by Nik Ewing following the release of Local Natives' second album, Hummingbird, in 2013. Hummingbird was a commercial success, charting at Number 12 on the Billboard 200 and Number 4 on Billboard's Top Rock Albums. 2016's Sunlit Youth was similarly successful, reaching Number 23 on the Billboard 200 and Number 8 on Top Rock Albums. Kelcey Ayer and Nik Ewing both released solo records during the following two years, and Local Natives reconvened in 2019 for the album Violet Street. The record's lead single, "When Am I Gonna Lose You," became Local Natives' biggest hit to date, reaching Number 5 on Billboard's Adult Alternative Airplay chart, Number 7 on Alternative Airplay, and Number 17 on Hot Rock & Alternative Songs. Another hit arrived with 2020's "Dark Days," a duet with Sylvan Esso that reached Number 18 on Adult Alternative Airplay. "Dark Days" was certified gold and was quickly followed by the EPs Sour Lemon (2020) and Music from the Pen Gala 1983 (2021). In 2022, Local Natives returned to the Adult Alternative Airplay's Top 40 with another single, "Just Before The Morning."

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Local Natives

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.