La Bouche

La Bouche is a eurodance duo formed in 1994 in Frankfurt am Main, Germany. They are best known for hits such as “Sweet Dreams (Ola Ola E)”, “Be My Lover”, and “You Won’t Forget Me”. La Bouche was brought together by Frank Farian, the German record producer and songwriter responsible for commercially successful acts like Boney M and Milli Vanilli. Originally, La Bouche was fronted by American vocalists Melanie Thornton and Lane McCray. Behind the scenes, Farian recruited DJ Ulli Brenner and producer Amier Saraf to sculpt the band’s sound and co-write much of the material. La Bouche’s first single, “Sweet Dreams (Ola Ola E)” became a worldwide hit, landing in the Top 10 in many countries include Germany, Australia, Switzerland, Austria, and Italy, where it reached Number 1. In the U.S., the single reached Number 13. Their second single, “Be My Lover”, did even better, hitting Number 1 in Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, and Sweden. Their debut album, Sweet Dreams, was released in June, 1995, and entered the Top 10 in many regions around the world. Subsequent singles from the album – including “Fallin’ in Love” - also fared well in the charts. La Bouche’s sophomore album S.O.S. was also a success. The album included the hits “You Won’t Forget Me” and “A Moment of Love”. Melanie Thornton left La Bouche in early 2000 to pursue a solo career. She released a handful of singles and one solo album before she was killed in a plane crash in Switzerland on November 24, 2001. La Bouche continued as a live act with Lane McCray joined by Kayo Shekoni until 2015 when Shekoni was replaced by Sophie Cairo.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring La Bouche

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.