English synth-pop, electronic duo, Alison Goldfrapp and Will Gregory joined forces in 1999 to form Goldfrapp and have since enjoyed commercial success in both the US and the UK. Signed to Mute Records in 1999 they released their debut album 'Felt Mountain' in early 2000, incorporating a mixture of both electric and folk genres, and it went on to become shortlisted for the 2001 Mercury Prize. To promote the album, Goldfrapp went on tour supporting The Doves and Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds in 2000. Their second album, 'Black Cherry', released in 2003 and moved towards a more glam-rock, new wave sound, and Goldfrapp began to find their feet within the music industry. The first single from the album, 'Train', reached number 23 in the UK singles chart and subsequent singles such as 'Strict Machine' and 'Twist' also enjoyed success. Their next album, 2005's 'Supernature' was much more dance-orientated and enjoyed huge success, selling more than one million copies and debuting in the UK Album chart at number two. While singles such as 'Ooh La La' brought critical and commercial acclaim, their fourth album 'Seventh Tree' (2002) moved away from the synth electronica of previous albums towards a more ambient sound, and it immediately went to number two in the UK Albums Chart. Their fifth album, 'Head First' returned to Goldfrapp's dance routes and earned them a number six place in the charts. 'Tales of Us' followed in 2013 with the announcement of 'Silvereye' for a 2017 release.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Goldfrapp

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.