Foghat was formed by singer and guitarist Dave Peverett ("Lonesome Dave"), bassist Tony Stevens, and drummer Roger Earl. They were all formally of the band Savoy Brown but left to pursue their own venture as a trio. They added Rod Price on slide guitar and Foghat was born. Foghat launched their career with two self-titled albums released in 1972 and 1973 (the second being referred to as Rock and Roll to distinguish between them), followed by Energized, Rock and Roll Outlaws, Fool for the City, Night Shift, Live, Stone Blue, and Boogie Motel, all in their first active decade. Into the 1980s the band slowed down with their records, releasing just four albums between 1980 and 1984 when they decided to take a break from the industry after a severe drop in record sales. They returned in 1994 with Return of the Boogie Men and the live album Road Cases in 1998. When Rod Price decided to return, the band took another break, not knowing whether it was the end. In 2000 founding member Dave Peverett died at the age of 56 after a short battle with cancer. Charlie Huhn was brought in to replace him on guitar and vocals and with that line-up, the band recorded Family Joules. Rod Price passed away in 2005 after suffering a heart attack. Further personnel changes occurred throughout the 2000s, with varying line-ups performing on live shows and recordings. In 2016 they released a new album Under the Influence followed by Slow Ride in 2018. In 2023, Foghat shared their 17th studio album Sonic Mojo and the first single, “Drivin’ On,” co-written by Kim Simmonds from Savoy Brown.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Foghat

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.