Flogging Molly

Famed for mixing Celtic folk and punk influences to create their unique sound, Flogging Molly was formed by Irishman Dave King, formally of the band Fastway. After Fastway, King managed to retain a solo recording contract and set out on his own. When he met guitarist Ted Hutt, bassist Jeff Peters and violinist Bridget Regan King developed the idea for a band using the punk music he loved and the traditional Irish instruments he liked to play. It wasn't long into the venture that Hutt and Peters decided to return to their former band, leaving King and Regan to find new musicians. They soon found guitarist Dennis Casey, accordionist Matt Hensley, bassist Nathan Maxwell, drummer Mike Alonso and Bob Schmidt who specialised in mandolin and banjo, and so Flogging Molly was born. Throughout their career, Flogging Molly have recorded five studio albums - 'Swagger', 'Drunken Lullabies', 'Within a Mile of Home', 'Float', 'Speed of Darkness' and 'Life Is Good' - along with 21 singles, three of which made it into the US Alternative Top 40. Their live albums - 'Alive Behind the Green Door', 'Whiskey On a Sunday' and 'Live at the Greek Theatre' - have also all been well received, with the latter two both charting in the top five of the US Indie Charts.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Flogging Molly

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.