Family of the Year

Known for their male/female vocal harmonies and their folktale-inspired lyrics, Family of the Year is an American indie rock band formed in Los Angeles, California in 2009. Composed of Joseph Keefe (vocals, guitar), Sebastian Keefe (drums, vocals), James Buckey (guitar, vocals), and Christina Schroeter (keyboard, vocals), Family of the Year made their official debut with the independently released EP Where's the Sun in 2009. Songbook, their first full-length, appeared later that year, followed by a second EP titled Through the Trees in 2010. The band's breakthrough came in 2012 with the release of their single "Hero," which was later featured in the Richard Linklater film, Boyhood, and became a hit in several countries. This success was followed by the release of their sophomore effort, Loma Vista, which also yielded the promotional single "St. Croix." The album received positive reviews and helped solidify the band's place in the indie rock scene, reaching Number 35 on the Top Heatseekers chart. Preceded by the singles "Make You Mine" and "Carry Me," their third eponymous album hit retail in 2015 and peaked at Number 24 on the US folk charts. In 2018, after a three-year absence from the music scene, Family of the Year returned with their fourth full-length, Goodbye Sunshine Hello Nighttime.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Family of the Year

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.