Drax Project

Jazzy alt-pop four-piece Drax Project found fame with its 2017 breakout single “Woke Up Late”, which went triple platinum in New Zealand and led to an opening slot for Ed Sheeran in Auckland the following year. Bassist Sam Thomson, vocalist and saxophonist Shaan Singh, drummer Matt Beachen and guitarist Ben O'Leary formed in 2014 after meeting as jazz students at the New Zealand School of Music and subsequently spent time busking together in Wellington. Drax Project released its debut EP on Bandcamp that same year, and in 2016 dropped a second EP, T/W/OO, produced by former Shapeshifter member Devin Abrams and released through Universal. The band amassed a substantial following online and in 2017 opened for Lorde and New Zealand heroes Six60. In 2019, a new version of “Woke Up Late” featuring Hailee Steinfeld was released. The track was certified triple platinum in Australia and Drax Project opened for Christina Aguilera that same year, also releasing a new single in September with Six60 called “Catching Feelings". A debut, self-titled studio album was released on 27 September 2019, which peaked at Number 2 in New Zealand and was certified gold. October 2020 saw the release of the “Firefly” collaboration with Fetty Wap and AACACIA.

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.