Death from Above 1979

Making noisy, dancey punk thunder, Canadian duo Death From Above 1979 were a mighty, intense force who earned cult adulation with noughties' alternative rock fans before splitting suddenly amidst unbearable tensions. Sebastien Grainger (vocals and drums) and Jesse Keeler (bass and synths) had both cut their teeth in Toronto hardcore bands before coming together to release their debut six-track EP 'Heads Up' in 2002 and heading out on a relentless touring schedule. A legal row with James Murphy's label Death From Above Records meant they were forced to add '1979' to their name, but their distinct combination of thick, distorted metal riffs, mechanical rhythms, funky angular moments and odd synth lines helped the album 'You're a Woman, I'm a Machine' stand out above the crowd, and they were soon supporting major acts such as Foo Fighters, Nine Inch Nails and Queens of the Stone Age. Despite momentum building and the sense that they were on the cusp of a major breakthrough, the grinding toll of lengthy tours had caused an uncomfortable personal divide and the pair were no longer on talking terms by the time they broke up in 2006. Keeler turned his back on the bass and poured his efforts into his acclaimed electro outfit MSTRKRFT while Grainger released a self-titled solo album and took part in a number of collaborations, but in the meantime the reputation and fan base of Death From Above 1979 began to grow in stature despite their absence. They eventually reformed and rebuilt their relationship in 2011, and, after a highly anticipated comeback show at the Coachella Festival, they went on to release 'The Physical World' in 2014 which won the Juno Award for Best Rock Album of the Year. Back to their ferocious best, they returned again in 2017 with 'Outrage! Is Now', their most politically and socially charged album to date, featuring singles 'Holy Books' and 'Freeze Me'.

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.