US hip-hop duo Das EFX – aka Dray (also known as Krazy Drayz, born Andre Weston on September 9, 1970, in Teaneck, New Jersey) and Skoob (also known as Books, born William "Willie" Hines, November 27, 1970, in New York City) – carved out a unique space on the 1990s rap scene. Known for honing a specific style of fast, fluid, absurdist rapping that would often feature words ending in "iggity", the pair – who were co-signed by EPMD after appearing at a local talent contest and became part of the Def Squad crew – made a splash with their platinum-selling debut album Dead Serious on the East West label. The LP's hit lead single, "They Want EFX", was a Top 40 pop hit and made it onto the Top 10 on the U.S. Billboard R&B chart. It was followed by a guest appearance on Ice Cube's hit single "Check Yo Self" the next year. Krazy Drayz went on to release another five albums, including gold-selling Straight Up Sewaside in 1993, making a reference to their self-proclaimed "sewage" rap style, 1998's cult album Generation EFX and 2015's Old School Throwback. The duo's lyrical style influenced a number of other hip-hop artists, including Lords of the Underground and Common, and 1996 BLACKstreet hit "No Diggity".

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Das EFX

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.