Dan Tyminski

Daniel John Tyminski (born June 20, 1967) is an American bluegrass composer, vocalist, and instrumentalist. He is a member of Alison Krauss's band Union Station, and has released three solo albums, Carry Me Across the Mountain (2000), on the Doobie Shea Records label, Wheels (2008), on the Rounder Records label, and Southern Gothic (2017). on the Mercury Records label. He is known for his updated version of the song "Man of Constant Sorrow," which was featured in the movie O Brother, Where Art Thou? and won the 2001 CMA award for best single as well as a Grammy Award for best Country Collaboration with Vocals (along with Harley Allen and Pat Enright, filling out the vocals for the movie's Soggy Bottom Boys). In total, he has won 14 Grammy Awards for solo and collaborative projects. In 2013, he was the vocalist on Avicii's international hit "Hey Brother" from the album True. Tyminski received the Bluegrass Star Award from the Bluegrass Heritage Foundation of Dallas, Texas, in 2021. The award is bestowed upon bluegrass artists who do an exemplary job of advancing traditional bluegrass music while preserving its character and heritage.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Dan Tyminski

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.