Founded in 1979, The Choirboys is an Australian hard rock band from Sydney, New South Wales, Australia, formed by Mark Gable (lead vocals), Ian Hulme (bass guitar), Brad Carr (lead guitar) and Lindsay Tebbutt (drums). Performing originally as a pub band, they signed to Albert Records in 1982, releasing their self-titled album Choirboys in July 1983. Their debut single “Never Gonna Die” peaked at number 30 on the Australian singles chart, with the band signing to Mushroom Records and touring with Deep Purple and Bon Jovi on their respective Australian tours shortly after. Their sophomore album Big Bad Noise was released in 1988, featuring the 1987 rock anthem “Run to Paradise” which remains their most successful commercial single, reaching number 3 on the Australian charts, and appearing on the U.S Billboard Hot 100. Certified double platinum, Big Bad Noise produced follow up singles “Boys Will Be Boys” and “Struggle Town” which charted at number 14 and 34 respectively. Between 1991 and 1996, The Choirboys released two more albums: Midnight Sun and Yo-Yo with subsequent singles failing to emulate the band’s early success. Undeterred, the group continued to tour, taking their 2002 album Evolver on the road, playing extensively throughout Australia and New Zealand. Despite having limited commercial success with later releases, “Run to Paradise” continues to be their most requested track, with dance remix emerging in 2004 by DJ and producer Nick Skitz reaching number 16 on the ARIA Singles Chart. After an extensive hiatus, the band released Feel Good in 2021, a collection of past hits and covers as well as unreleased single “Home Free”, returning to the stage in 2022.

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.