Boy & Bear

Boy & Bear is an Australian indie folk band that formed in Sydney, New South Wales, in 2009. The band consists of five members: David Hosking (lead vocals and guitar), Killian Gavin (guitar and vocals), Tim Hart (drums and vocals), Jon Hart (keys and vocals), and David Symes (bass). After winning the Triple J radio competition Unearthed in 2009, the band signed with Island Records, with debut EP With Emperor Antarctica emerging shortly after, however it was popular cover of Crowded House track “Fall at Your Feet” that gained them a wider following, after the song arrived at number 5 on the Triple J Hottest 100 charts, followed by a 3 x Platinum certification. The next year, Boy and Bear released their debut studio album Moonfire in 2011 to critical acclaim, reaching the top of the Australian charts and earning them five ARIA awards including Album of the Year. In 2013, Boy & Bear released their second album, Harlequin Dream, which debuted at number 1 and produced several successful singles, including "Southern Sun" and "Three Headed Woman." Their third studio album, Limit of Love, released in 2015, incorporated a more rock-oriented sound compared to previous records, earning them the top charting position once more with the title track receiving extensive radio play in Australia. After a brief hiatus, Boy & Bear returned with their fourth album, Suck on Light, in 2019. The album explored a wider sonic landscape, blending folk and indie rock with electronic and experimental elements and was released to generally positive reviews. In 2023, new singles “Silver Moon” and “Strange World” from their eagerly were released to the delight of fans, with early-anticipated self-titled album appearing on May 26, debuting at number 4.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Boy & Bear

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.